October 2019

With Heartfelt Thanks and Appreciation

iStockphoto.com #472297471

By Janice T. Radak, Editor, and Rich Dubin, Publisher

As another year draws to a close, the natural inclination is to look ahead and plan for the future. But the beauty of the year’s end also gives us the chance to look back and appreciate the path we have travelled, the lessons we have learned, and the many, many people and organizations who have helped us on that journey.

2019 saw the LER team travel across the country to hear experts of all kinds, with thanks to our many hosts throughout the year:

  • NY Podiatric Clinical Conference (NYC)
  • American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists (Orlando)
  • No-Nonsense Seminar (North Central Academy of Podiatric Medicine) (Cleveland)
  • American Podiatric Medical Association (Washington, DC)
  • American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (Boston)
  • International Society of Biomechanics in Sports (Oxford, Ohio)
  • American Orthotic & Prosthetic Association (San Diego)
  • NEOAPM Fall Classic Seminar (Ohio Foot & Ankle Medical Association) (Cleveland)
  • Diabetic Foot Global Conference 2019 (DFCon) (Los Angeles)
  • World Congress of Podiatry (Miami)
  • Pedorthic Footcare Association (Las Vegas)

As for the lessons we learned:

  1. Biomechanics matter—no matter the age or the affliction, the weight or the athletic ability.
  2. Falls can be prevented, particularly in the elderly—injury prevention is key.
  3. Many diabetic foot ulcers can be prevented; we need to do better.
  4. Collaboration makes for better outcomes.

Stay tuned, as you’ll see more on those lessons in 2020!

As for the people and organizations, well, the list is long (it starts below and moves to page 10!), but the thanks for the efforts of our authors, experts, reviewers, Editorial Advisory Board members, editors, designers, advertisers, and meeting attendees who shared meaningful conversations is heartfelt. Like many things in life, LER takes a village to get out the door every month and we couldn’t do it without all the people willing to answer countless questions, double-check facts, and find just the right image. And if we’ve missed your name, please know we didn’t mean it and feel free to let us know. We’ll correct that in an upcoming issue!

Bottom line: We appreciate the excellence and expertise you shared. Thank you to all who helped make LER the valued resource it has become.

  • Laurel Daniels Abbruzzese
  • Brent Alumbaugh, MS
  • American Diabetes Association
  • Zeeshan Anwar, DPM
  • Romeu Araujo
  • David Armstrong, DPM
  • Karen Bakar
  • John Baranowski
  • Jeffrey R. Baker, DPM, FACFAS
  • Carla Benson, DPM
  • Craig R. Bottoni, MD
  • LT. Commander Lauren Brown, PT, DPT, DSC
  • Chris Burcal
  • Ryan Caldwell, CP, FAAOP
  • Jose María Cancela-Carral
  • Jonathan Chang, MD
  • Lowell Jia-Yee Chong
  • Shefali M. Christopher
  • Aisha Cobbs, PhD
  • Windy Cole, DPM
  • Robert M. Conenello, DPM
  • Chad Cook
  • Robert Creighton, DPM
  • Sarah Curran, PhD, FCPodMed
  • Patrick A. Deheer, DPM
  • Paul DeVita, PhD
  • E.J. Durden-Myers
  • Major Kyle East, PT, DPT, DSC
  • Pedro Aldape-Esquivel, DPM
  • Stefania Fatone, PhD
  • Meghann Featherstun, MS, RD, CSSD, LD
  • Laura Fonda Hochnadel
  • Forest Stump.org
  • Brad Franklin, DNP, RN, FNP-C, FAANP
  • Ray M. Fredericksen M.S. C-PED
  • Happy Freedman
  • Arlene Gillis
  • Sylvie Goldman
  • Colonel Donald Goss, PT, PHD
  • N.R. Green
  • Matt Greig, MPhil, PhD
  • Cary Groner
  • Douglas J. Guth
  • Gary Helton, PT, DSc, SCS, OCS
  • Timothy E. Hewett, PhD
  • Mark Hinkes, DPM
  • Malia Ho
  • Von M. Homer, MSc, BOCPD, PhD-c
  • Kendon Howard
  • Christopher Hovorka, PhD, CPO, LPO, FAAOP
  • Tricia Hubbard-Turner
  • Erick Janisse, CO, CPED
  • Randall L. Jensen, PhD
  • Gu Eon Kang
  • Chris Klingenberg
  • Geza F. Kogler, PhD, CO
  • Sarah Kogod
  • Pui Wah Kong
  • Jonathan M. Labovitz, DPM, FACFAS, CHCQM
  • Wing-Kai Lam
  • Katia Langton, CPed, CPed (C)
  • Bruce Latimer, PhD
  • Eve Lee, MBA, CAE
  • Robert S. Lin, CPO
  • Martin Lind
  • Thurmon E. Lockhart
  • Daniel López-López
  • Keith Loria
  • Lymphatic Education & Research Network
  • Valerie Marmolejo, DPM
  • Ana Martinez-Santos
  • R. Christopher Mason, PhD
  • Aston K. McCullough
  • Jeremy McCullough
  • Jacqueline Montes
  • Vanessa Morales, DC
  • Carly Mueller
  • Benjamin Mulvad
  • Bijan Najafi, PhD
  • Christopher J. Nester
  • Rasmus Oestergaard Nielsen
  • Rebecca Omana-Daniels, DPM
  • Howard Osterman, DPM
  • Scott Pensivy, PT, LAT, ATC
  • Anthony Palmieri
  • Pedorthic Association of Canada
  • Warren J. Potash
  • Jacob Praga, MSBME
  • Stephen Preece
  • Louise Puli, BPO, MPH
  • Julia Quinlan, PhD
  • Daniel Ramskov
  • Ashwini K. Rao
  • Michael Reeder, DO
  • Sharon Reynolds
  • Rick Riley
  • Antonio Robustelli, MSc, CSCS
  • Michael Rowlings, BS
  • Rebecca Rushton, BSc(Pod)
  • Robert Sberna
  • Amy Schultz, PT, DPT, CSCS
  • Rick Schultz, MBA, DBA
  • Jarrod Shapiro, DPM, FACFAOM, FACFAS
  • Daniel F. Shay, Esq.
  • Megan Smith, CO
  • Robert G. Smith, DPM, MSC, RPH, CPED
  • Suzanne J. Snodgrass
  • Lynn Soban, PhD, MPH, RN
  • Kyeongtak Song
  • Adrianna Stahl
  • Myles Starkman, DC
  • Mitchell L. Stephenson, PhD
  • Kerry Sweet, DPM, FACFAS
  • Audris Tien, DPM
  • Michael J. Turner
  • Pieter Van den Berghe
  • Nicole Ver Kuilen
  • Mark Walsh, PhD
  • Robert Weil, DPM
  • Nicole Wetsman
  • Neil H. White, MD
  • Erik A. Wikstrom
  • Bruce E. Williams, DPM
  • Sally Dunaway Young
  • Audrey Zoeller

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.