November 2020

Editorial Appreciation: 2020: The Year That Was! #1283027754

By Janice T. Radak, Editor, and Rich Dubin, Publisher

Some years it’s hard to say good-bye…and then there’s 2020. We’re sure we’re not the only ones happy to see it in the rearview mirror. But to just drive away is to ignore the words of Socrates, who rightfully said,

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new.”

We want to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for all those who have supported Lower Extremity Review this past year in oh, so many ways. And we want to thank those who have supported lerExpert, and now, lerEXPO. We’re focused on building the new and are glad to have you with us.

2020 obviously saw a much-curtailed schedule for in-person visits, but we still want to thank our hosts:

  • NY Podiatric Clinical Conference (NYC)
  • American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists (Chicago)
  • No-Nonsense Seminar (North Central Academy of Podiatric Medicine, Cleveland—ok, this didn’t actually happen, but we made some good friends so that still counts)

While travel was curtailed, lerEXPO had the opportunity to launch and we want to acknowledge the sponsors for those events (check out for follow-ups):

  • Pedorthic Footcare Association Virtual Symposium
  • Guiding Parents through Clubfoot Treatment (MD Orthopaedics)
  • Understanding Causes and Management of Partial Foot Amputations (PFA)
  • Conservative Pain Management for Osteoarthritis (Medi)
  • A Segmental Approach to AFO Design Using Composite Materials (Kinetic Research)
  • O&P Medicare and Insurance Billing and Documentation Virtual Interactive Workshop (PFA) (Coming January 15, 2021)
  • 2021 No-Nonsense Seminar Virtual (Coming March 5–7, 2021)

And we continued to build on our four pillars:

  1. Biomechanics matter.
  2. Injury prevention is possible.
  3. Diabetic foot ulcers can be prevented.
  4. Collaborative care leads to better outcomes.

As a magazine, Lower Extremity Review is supported by a diverse group of dedicated professionals who choose to share their expertise on a variety of levels, and we are grateful for one and all. LER is also fortunate to have collaborative agreements with several organizations across the country who help make sure our content is accurate and relevant. And for that, we are grateful as well. And to our advertisers, thank you, thank you, thank you, for sticking with us through this difficult year; we surely would not still be standing without you.

As the following list attests, it takes a village to get LER out the door every month and please know, we value the contribution each of you has made for us.

  • Marianne Adams, MA, MFA
  • Samuel B. Adams, MD
  • Sami Ahmed, DPT
  • Nicholas B. Allen
  • American College of Podiatric Medicine
  • American Physical Therapy Association
  • David G. Armstrong, DPM, MD, PhD
  • John Baranowski
  • Stanley Beekman, DPM
  • Anja-Verena Behling
  • Paul J. Betschart, DPM, FACFAS
  • Kevin Burke, DPM
  • Eric Chessen, MS
  • Hyun-Su Choi
  • Im-Rak Choi
  • Aisha Cobbs, PhD
  • Windy Cole, DPM
  • Robert Conenello, DPM
  • Brian Craft
  • Sally Crawford, MS
  • A. Cruz
  • Sarah Curran, PhD, FCPodMed
  • Tom Cutler, CPO, FAAOP
  • Austin Davids, MSOP, CPO
  • Paul DeVita, PhD
  • Sue Duval, PhD
  • Ian Engelman
  • Adrienne Estes, DPM, MS, AACFAS, FAPWHc
  • Joe Fairley, BEP
  • Stefania Fatone, PhD, BPO
  • Laura Fonda Hochnadel
  • Michael Flores, DPM
  • Happy Freedman
  • David Gallegos, MA, ATC, Cert. MDT
  • David Gerecke, CPO, FAAOP
  • Brian Greer
  • Cary Groner
  • Douglas J. Guth
  • Joseph Hamill
  • Andrew E. Hanselman, MD
  • Timothy E. Hewett, PhD
  • Jonathan Hook, DPM, FACFAS
  • Craig J. Hubbard, Inventor Designer
  • Grace Jurial
  • Rishin J. Kadakia, MD
  • Angela Kelley, PA-C
  • Geza Kogler, PhD, CO
  • Jason Kraus
  • Linden A. Lechner, BSc
  • Jung-Hoon Lee
  • Kevin A. Kirby, DPM
  • Robert S. Lin, CPO
  • Keith Loria
  • Lymphatic Education & Research Network
  • Phil Maffetone, DC
  • Brittany Mammano, DPM, PGY-1
  • Ronald J. Maughan
  • Adam Meakins, BSc (Hons), Physiotherapy
  • MedFit Network
  • Mark Mendeszoon, DPM
  • Andrea Myers, PT, DPT
  • Bijan Najafi, PhD
  • National Athletic Trainers’ Association
  • National Biomechanics Day
  • Benno Nigg
  • Subhadra L. Nori, MD
  • Laura-Ashley O’Connell, DPM
  • R. Oliveira
  • Alex Olsen, CPO
  • Anthony Palmieri
  • Donald Pelto, DPM
  • Ben Potter, DPM
  • Leanne M. Ramer, PhD
  • Andrew Rawson
  • Talysha Reeve, B.App.Sc.(Podiatry)
  • Antonio Robustelli, MSc, CSCS
  • Stanley G. Rockson, MD
  • Michael A. Rosenblat, PT, PhD(c), CEP
  • Saba Sadra, DPM, MSc
  • Jay Segel, DPM
  • P. Tanner Shaffer, DPM
  • Jarrod Shapiro, DPM
  • Dave Shelles
  • Shana Shetty, DPM PGY3
  • Susan M. Shirreffs
  • David Shofler, DPM, MSHS
  • A.G. Silva
  • Lynn Soban, PhD, MPH, RN
  • Marshall G. Solomon, DPM FACPM, FACFAS, FFPM RCPS (qlas)
  • Michael F. Stretanski, DO
  • Nicole Wetsman
  • Robert Weil, DPM
  • William Weir
  • Bruce E. Williams, DPM
  • Colleen M. Wixted
  • Jason Wright, PDM, PGY-2
  • Jeffrey Yau, PhD
  • Dalia Zwick, PT, PHD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.